Hmm, where to start. I go by the name of Sylvia. Now, I know that is a fairly uncommon name, but it does have a back story. I am, or at least used to be, an avid Dungeons & Dragons player. I own almost all of the books on .PDF, I own mini figurines, I’ve spent many a nights gaming then having to face that evil day star all you normal people call the sun. I go by Sylvia to almost everyone, mostly because it’s my real name. I never used the name for a character I played, because I found it too cheesy, I know, a D&D player worried about being cheesy, but Sylvia really does fit me. The Elven name generator in the Races of the Wild book had my name broken down into two parts:

Syl – Faerie

Via – Good fortune, Luck

Finding this, I was quite excited. My name was an Elven name! Prior to playing D&D, I had developed an obsession with faeries, so finding out that my name had meant Faerie of Good Fortune or Luck Faerie was very exciting to me.

Now, when my mother was pregnant with me, she just fell in love with the word Silver, but she thought it would be weird to name her daughter a color like that, so she named me Sylvia. The traditional meaning of Sylvia is “Of the woods or forest”, which is a great thing, since I love nature! Almost everything you can find for myths based around my name surrounds nature. Who would have guessed that a child given a name that is based around nature would fall so much in love with nature itself before she could even read. 🙂

Enough about my name, even though I can go on about it for hours, I should probably move on. I’m a horrible night owl. All of my creativity comes in the night when it’s quiet and calm. During the day I can barely get anything done, but come night fall, my best stuff comes to surface. I was a dancer for 10 years, and was in various art schools from kindergarten until I graduated. I love art, nature, and gaming of various calibers. So, be prepared for this blog to be a hodge-podge of everything that interests me, like DIY, crafts, and make-up, to fashion, movies, and music. Anything could come of this! 🙂

Every week or so, I will check into the poll and see what everyone thinks I should write about. The most popular request will get a featured post!

