Tags

, , , , ,

Well, I don’t know how many people will be reading these updates, BUT, I will try to remember to update every week or so for the next 6 months.

Tuesday, October 9, 2012 I will begin the Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred. As well, I have begun dieting and using My Fitness Pal as of Friday with a couple friends.

This is the first time I’ve had friends, see plural, more than one, joining me on a quest for better, healthy bodies.

Now, I used to be a dancer from the ages of 8 to 17. I had a great body, then I graduated, stopped dancing due to the studios being too expensive, and eventually gained weight. Now I wasn’t the lightest person. My body was mostly muscle, so I weighed a fair amount. Approximately 185 – 195 pounds (mind you I’ve been 5’9″ since I was about 14 or 15). Remember, that was mostly muscle. I also did a little bit of weight lifting in high school as well, so I had built up muscle from that, too.

After I stopped dancing, I lost a bit of muscle and gained a bit of fat. I’m now 206 pounds. My legs are still almost solid muscle, with my thighs being about 24″ in diameter and solid as a rock almost 24/7. I gained the weight in my stomach, like most people.

In the past, I had tried to get back into exercising and dieting, with little success, as I had little support from my friends to do it, and most of them saying things like “you’re beautiful as you are”, “why? You’re not fat!”, and “you don’t need to lose weight, you’re gorgeous!”. My family was supportive, but in a passive kind of way. So I’d get pumped to start, then quickly lose the motivation and go back to playing video games or WoW when I still had it on my laptop. Now I go to college online, which is even more sedentary, and all the more reason to do something active and get in shape, if I’m going to be spending the next year an a half going to school online for my associates degree.

So, with a little background about me and my lifestyle, I’m hoping what I’m about to type will make more sense. I’ve decided to do weekly updates to my blog, granted it’s getting little attention at the moment because its new, in hopes that I will stick with my plan to get back in shape by posting it for everyone to see. As well, maybe this will help and/or inspire other women, or even some men, with their weight loss and dieting goals. I’m not looking for attention, though, so you can cross that out of your minds if you believe that.

I want to keep this promise to myself that I will get back into shape, I will eat better, and I will be active again. No more sitting around on my butt all day. No more excuses about why I don’t want to go for a run. No more eating junk food when I can eat fruit and veggies and healthy foods. This is my promise. I promise I will get back in shape and better my body. I don’t care how long it takes.

As for updates, you should expect these three things:
•weekly weigh in, how much weight I lost (or not) in a week.
•weekly measurements, how many inches, centimeters, etc. I lost that week, if any.
•how I’m feeling about the workout and the changes I’m seeing.

So, this weeks updates, or starter notes since I haven’t started the workout yet:

Weight: 206lb.
Left upper arm: 13 3/4 inches
Right upper arm: 13 3/4 inches
Waist: 36 1/4 inches
Hips: 42 1/2 inches
Left mid thigh: 24 inches
Right mid thigh: 24 inches

Well, it’s off to bed for me. Tomorrow I start my workout! Woo! 🙂 and good luck to everyone who is trying to do the same!

}|{ ~Sylvia Claire~ }|{

It will hurt. It will take time. It will require dedication. It will require will power. You will need to make healthy decisions. It requires sacrifice. You will need to push your body to its max. There will be temptation. But, I promise you, when you reach your goal, it’s worth it.

~Unknown

20121012-141502.jpg

