Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I did it. After six months of not being able to, I got back on the horse and went for a light 1.5 mile run today with my mom ^_^ I have to say I am quite proud of myself. For those that missed it, I was in a car accident back in December that messed up my knee pretty bad. I have been doing physical therapy for it for a few months and am finally starting to feel closer to normal. Unfortunately some of the damage that was done will be permanent  but I am working to get back into fighting shape, especially since I was only a few weeks into my Zombie Run training when I was in my accident!

I was hurting by the time I got home, but it felt good to get out there again. I plan on alternating my running with some biking, as to not cause any unnecessary strain on my knee. But, I’m pretty stoked ^_^

Anywhosit, After my run I had a super awesome smoothie (which has become a meal replacement in the mornings for me to help with my weight loss/fitness goal)

IMG823

1 cup ice, 1 banana, 1/2 cup plain low fat yogurt (I use Fage Greek Yogurt, 25g of protein!), 1/2 cup strawberries, 1/2 cup steel cut oats (I use Quaker quick oats, works the same lol), about 1/4 cup of milk (or any liquid you choose to add, such as water, juice, or a shot of wheat grass), and 1 Tbsp honey (I add an extra squeeze because the Greek yogurt has a very powerful taste, of you can use agave.) Then Just blend until smooth. I was quite surprised at how good this one tasted!

IMG824

 

For dinner I made a delicious post run soup. Chicken and quinoa work great together. The amino acids in chicken rebuild broken-down muscle tissue, while carbs in quinoa refuel your depleted “gas tank” making this optimal for recovery. Quinoa also provides magnesium. Plus it’s a super easy one pot meal. Heat 2 teaspoons canola oil (or coconut oil) in a pot; cook 1 diced onion and 2 sliced carrots for 6 minutes. Add 1 pound thinly sliced boneless raw chicken thighs, 1 cup sliced mushrooms, 2 sliced celery stalks, and 2 minced garlic cloves; cook 5 minutes. Add 4 cups chicken broth, 1 cup water, 3/4 cup quinoa, 4 sprigs thyme, and salt and pepper. Boil, reduce heat, and simmer about 15 minutes, till quinoa is tender. Top with parsley and hot sauce. (optional)

 

Have any questions? Any topics you want us to cover? Leave us a comment or check out our Facebook page, here!

 

Have a great night!

~Ash ❤

