Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve been on Twitter most of the night trying to get some idea of how to get this blog to not be too cheesy when tweeting when I came across a really good one.

The reason why people give up so fast is because they tend to look at how far they still have to go, instead of how far they have come.

I can’t agree with this more. This quote comes from Fitness | Health Tips on twitter. They have a wonderful page, and I suggest everyone go check them out.

For years, even when I was dancing, I would tend to give up on my exercising because I felt that trying to lose at least 50 pounds was too tough, and I wouldn’t be able to do. Never mind changing my diet, too. Then, when I graduated high school in 2009, I become lazy, I stopped dancing (as there weren’t any studios I could afford), and I ate A LOT of fast food. I probably gained a good 20 pounds from where I was in high school, that includes losing muscle tone and gaining fat, so you could see where I was at 210 pounds. I maintained that weight for the last couple years, I was still sedentary in my days, but my diet had to change (not by my choice, either). For some reason, I had to stop eating most mammalian meats, as they made me sick to eat more than a few bites. Then I become lactose intolerant, so there goes a lot of fat.

Back in October, when I started this blog, I decided to take up a workout routine. I had a friend on the complete opposite side of the country who convinced me to try the Jillian Michaels’ 30-day Shred. I got 2 days into it when my knee started to swell (I had an injury in high school from dancing, I should have taken it easier until I was used to moving like that again).

I lost 2 pounds.

I gave up.

Then a lot of things happened. There were the holidays, with lots of food. There was the winter, it was too cold to go walking. Then I moved into my own apartment, and out of my parents.

My diet changed considerably at that last point. My boyfriend and I started buying healthier foods, like fruits and veggies, we stopped buying and drinking soda, we stopped eating so much fast food, and I upped my water intake from maybe 2 glasses a day to almost 64 ounces or more day. I noticed that by changing my diet from junk to healthy, it was doing my body some good. It also meant that I lost about 17 pounds in the three months I’ve been on my own, and lost 2 pants sizes.

17 pounds!

I went from size 16 to size 12! I haven’t been a size 12 since middle school!

I still have about 25 pounds to go before I’m at my goal weight of 170-175 pounds, and normally, I would say “screw it, I lost weight, I’m good”, but I’m enjoying this. I’m enjoying being healthier. I won’t give up because I’ve lost less than half of the total weight I want to drop. I’m proud of myself. I’m proud that I have been able to make changes in my life that have led me to continue to work towards my goal. I’ve never felt this. I’ve never looked at this as “I’ve come this far, I can keep going”, I’ve always looked it like “that’s too far to continue, I’m done”.

So moral of the story, don’t give up because the road ahead looks long. Take a step back, and be amazed at how far you’ve come because the road ahead will look much shorter after that.

Sylvia

