Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

If you’re like me and Ashley, and were born in the late 1980’s or the early 1990’s, you’ll understand this post. I was going through my bookmarks, and came across this horribly designed website that just pulled at my heartstrings in all the right ways. Being out on my own for the first time is kind of scary. Not gonna lie. This website has let me regress to my childhood for a brief period, and what can I say, I miss the 90’s. Well, I miss the things that existed in the 90’s.

popsicle-green-slime-ice-103784

Like these buggers. The slime was actually pretty good, in my opinion. I remember them being on every ice cream truck, in all the stores, in MY freezer. Then one day *poof* gone.

surge

Like this! I, personally, don’t remember drinking this, but most of my friends go crazy when they see a picture of Surge. Then they start salivating and foaming at the mouth, and knocking things over with a craving strong enough to bring the Hulk to his knees.

Ok…that was bit of an exaggeration, but I know a lot of people who get upset when they’re reminded that Surge hasn’t been around for 11 years. You know what else hasn’t been around in a few years?

squeeze its

These! These have been so forgotten, I bet you can’t find more than 2 commercial photos of these on the internet (there’s knock off’s from Kool-Aid, but they’re just not the same). I remember the weird faces these things had. The bug eyes, the huge mouths, the small noses…some of them even had arms. But we haven’t been able to wring their necks in 12 years.

furby

Sorry for the nightmares…but these were a crucial part to a lot of our childhoods. I can’t recall how many times I tried to wring this guy’s neck to no avail. I even took the batteries out and he still talked! Anyone else have a possessed, robotic, rabbit/gerbil hybrid screaming in tongues at them throughout the night? God I hope I wasn’t the only one. On the plus side they’re no longer sold in stores so the new generation doesn’t have to go through to terrifying ordeal of having to destroy this creepy thing. Wait, I forgot, THEY’RE IN STORES AGAIN! I think I need to go to my happy place

AYAOTD

This show was my absolute favorite show, until the final episode in June 2000. I have searched in the interwebs for the last few years trying to find the full episodes. They still creep me out, but I still can’t get enough of this show.

hey snot face

This is another thing I can’t get enough of. I can’t tell you how excited I was when I found out this was on Netflix a couple of weeks ago. I made my boyfriend and roommate watch this. I also can’t tell you how many people have no idea who this is! It’s Drop Dead Fred (incase you didn’t know, too…them shame on you). Granted this movie didn’t come out in the 90’s, it shaped my childhood.

rugrats

This also shaped my life. I remember watching every episode of this. This was a surprisingly creepy show at times…but I still love it! The show is still on in some places.

1993 show lineup

Ah, the line-up from 1993.  I miss these shows.

I could go on and on about my childhood that I miss, but I’m sure by now, you get the point, and if you’re like me, you’ll be scouring the web for more from the 90’s. If you have anything else you want to add to this list, add it to the comments!

-Sylvia

 

