Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Body image is a very touchy issue for some. A lot of people are too quick to judge nowadays. ‘I can’t believe she’s wearing that!’ ‘That is too much woman in those pants!’ and of course the blunt ‘She is too fat to be wearing that’

While I admit that sometimes I do that, and sometimes I think that certain styles/fits/colors/patterns/clothes just aren’t flattering on certain people/body types/weights, no one should have to feel self conscious about themselves because someone else doesn’t think they look good.

A good friend of mine posted this on Facebook the other day;

 Okay long post/rant time. So today I was at the mall shopping, and as I was looking through some pants, a woman with a young daughter, probably around age seven or eight, is shopping at one of the racks close by. I hear the little girl say, “How about this one mommy?” To which the mother replied, “Oh no. I couldn’t wear something like that, I need something to hide my tummy. You always have to be careful when you’re picking out your clothes.” Then they walk past me, and I see the mother glance at me, and then I hear her say, “See, when you’re cute like her, you can wear whatever you want.”
I really hate seeing things like this. It just makes me so sad for those little girls, who are already in for a struggle to learn confidence and self-love, already growing up in a society that teaches them they aren’t good enough, already being bombarded by unattainable beauty standards everywhere they look. Even at age eight, this child has magazines, billboards, television, movies, and a million other things telling her she has to look a certain way, that she isn’t beautiful just the way she is. In my opinion, the last person on Earth little girls should ever be taught these things by is their mother.
One day if I have a daughter, I will NEVER say bad things about my body or appearance in front of her, I will NEVER tell her she is anything short of perfect the way she is, I will ALWAYS tell her she is beautiful, but more than that, smart, kind, compassionate, artistic, and any other things that are much more important than her looks that my future child may turn out to be, and I will NEVER tell her that she has to look like that girl over there to wear that pretty dress she loves so much.

“Mother is God in the eyes of a child.”

I can’t say I blame her. We all try so hard to be accepted by everyone else, when really all we need is to accept ourselves. We need to teach our children, not only to love themselves, no matter how they look, but also to love others, no matter how they look! We are constantly bombarded by pictures in magazines and ads of these woman who are size 0 and are being told that this is what beauty is. Well here’s a newsflash…

599049_549209558446929_48808192_n1

That’s right. We are all beautiful!

dove-real-beauty-hed-2013

Beauty is being a size 2/4/6/8/20/12/14/16/18/20/22/24/26+, beauty is being white/black/brown/gray/purple/Asian/Mexican/European/middle eastern/native/pacific islander/etc. Beauty is having perfect skin, acne, blackheads, scars, hair, tattoos, piercings, make-up, or extra features. Beauty is wearing that neon puke-yellow dress, because dammit it looks cute! But ABOVE ALL, beauty is knowing that at the end of the day, you can look yourself in the eye (or mirror) and smile, because you are who YOU are. Not what society wants you to be. You might not agree with someone’s fashion choice, but that doesn’t mean that they can’t be themselves.

 

No matter what happens, jut remember that someone there thinks you’re beautiful.

~Ashley<3

