Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Our readers from the south most likely know exactly what I’m talking about! (And maybe our readers up north! haha) But for those who are looking at the title and scratching their heads, Apple butter is a highly concentrated form of apple sauce, produced by long, slow cooking of apples with cider or water to a point where the sugar in the apples caramelizes, turning the apple butter a deep brown. The concentration of sugar gives apple butter a much longer shelf life as a preserve than apple sauce. It’s great on fresh biscuits, toast, pancakes, waffles, saltines/crackers, and really just about anything you want. And the kicker?

It’s so easy!!

Start with about 5-15 apples, any type

I used Red Delicious because that's what I happened to have, but playing with your varieties can give you different flavors!

I used Red Delicious because that’s what I happened to have, but playing with your varieties can give you different flavors!

Then peel,

I prefer to use my pampered chef Apple-Peeler-Corer-Slicer, but it is in a box in the garage! lol

I prefer to use my pampered chef Apple-Peeler-Corer-Slicer, but it is in a box in the garage! lol

But the potato peeler is awesome too

But the potato peeler is awesome too

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Core and chop

They look like potatoes!

They look like potatoes!

Add cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, and honey (or your choice of sweetener)

I used probably about 3-5 tbsp of cinnamon (add more or less per your preference) a few sprinkles of each nutmeg and cloves, and maybe 3 tbsp of honey. Flavor to your liking!

I used probably about 3-5 tbsp of cinnamon (add more or less per your preference) a few sprinkles of each nutmeg and cloves, and maybe 3 tbsp of honey. Flavor to your liking!

Then put on low for at least 5 hours.

I forgot to get a pic of this step so here's my brother's Bearded Dragon, Gamera :-)

I forgot to get a pic of this step so here’s my brother’s Bearded Dragon, Gamera 🙂

Then blend to your chosen consistency

Here's where an immersion blender comes in handy!!

Here’s where an immersion blender comes in handy!!

Let cool and enjoy!!

 

I absolutely love this recipe and in a mason jar, makes a great gift for the holidays!

I hope you all enjoyed! If you try it, let me know how it turns out!!!

Foozy caterpillar ish foozy

Foozy caterpillar ish foozy. As my dad found out the hard way, DON’T PICK THESE ONES UP!!! 

Good Night and Much Love!

~Ashley<3

